I wanna quit

I wanna quit!

It’s a thought that comes into my mind usually several times during a workout. And often several times a week during the mundane, everyday challenges of life. I’ve thought it a lot lately about a lot of different things.

I thought it again this morning as I ran the trail between Huntington beach and the Pacific Coast Highway. I was only out for 45 mins, but it came once around mile 2, and again and again every quarter mile after.

Until I heard a small, familiar voice. It’s the voice I’ve been waiting for and longing to hear. It said Love perseveres. It never gives up. It endures every circumstance.

1 Corinthians 13:4-7. It’s not just a reading for weddings.

It’s a verse that defines, in case you were ever wondered, how love behaves. How to love your neighbor. How to love your enemy. How to love the poor. How to love yourself.

It also describes how you are loved by Love himself. It points to the everlasting, faithful, and sustaining love of God.

“Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.”

I needed that hope-filled encouragement today. Maybe you do too.

Keep your ears and eyes open. God is still speaking to us.

Leave a Reply

