Base training complete!

10609726_10152706330112835_6984926399185512432_n

This is my “YAY!!” pic.

My Ironman base training is complete!

Actually what I’ve been doing since the beginning of the year is more like the base training before the base training, necessary for non-triathletes, like myself. But I did it. I made it through my first 10 weeks, with 91/100 workouts complete since January 1!

The official training begins tomorrow.
Ever wondered what week one of Ironman training looks like?

week1.png

It’s 9.5 hours total, which is about 1 hour and 50 mins more (for me) than week 15 of marathon training (week 15 is the most intense week of marathon training, which includes the 20 mile long run).

Dang.

I just realized that the easiest week of Ironman training takes more time than the hardest week of marathon training.

Oh Lord, help me.raised

Fundraising is off to a solid start, too. $800, which will provide lasting clean water for 16 kids! My goal is 400, and I want to get to at least 200 by my birthday – April 7th. On that day, I’m going to tri to tie all three disciplines together for the first time and do a 39 mile triathlon – 1 mile swim, 28 mile bike ride, and 10 mile run. It’ll probably take me about 5 hours – which, even that, is more time than most of my marathons have taken.

[[ You’re invited! You can swim. You can ride. You can run – as much or as little as you want. Or you can just be there to watch it all go down. Doesn’t matter, as long as you’re there. People make these birthday runs great. RSVP here. ]]


26 weeks to go ’til Sept. 10th.
Ironman Madison. 2.4 mile swim. 112 mile bike. 26.2 mile run. Here we go.

Want to read more about my journey so far? Click here.

Don’t need to read more because you can see I clearly need help? 🙂  Click here.

Leave a Reply

