Sidelined

Warning: graphic content.

I haven’t had a running related injury in a long time. My secret – wearing the right shoes and staying diligent about proper stretching after every run. Triathlon training’s been surprisingly kind to me physically. While I’m working a lot of new muscle groups, they have ample time to recover between workouts. For the most part, my body has felt amazing.

But I’m pretty frustrated right now and actually, in a lot of pain. I’ve had to take the last few days off of training because my feet are very sick.
script

I visited the doctor last Wednesday and was diagnosed me with a severe case of athlete’s foot, a common fungal infection that can be contracted in pools or public showers. They gave me an oral anti-fungal and a steroid and said I should start to feel better in a day or so (she also told me I had to wear shower shoes for the rest of my life. Hilarious). Unfortunately, things haven’t gotten any better. In fact, they have been getting progressively worse.

There are pictures below. If you don’t like feet or don’t want to see them, don’t look. They’re pretty ugly.

The thing is, I could run. I ran 5 miles on Thursday. It hurts, but not that much more than walking. The problem is that the friction and pounding aggravate the skin. It would probably make things worse.

I could bike, but my bike shoes are very narrow, and don’t have a lot of spare room. With all the swelling, my feet won’t even fit into the shoes.

I could swim – no shoes, no pounding, and nice cool water – but I don’t wish this on my worse enemy. Assuming I picked this up at the pool from someone else, I don’t want to propagate this any further.

I’M SO FRUSTRATED. I have been SO GOOD with my training. I’ve seldom missed a workout – primarily because I’m terrified of this race and I want to be as well prepared as possible.

While all of this has been happening to me, my husband Dan has been sick with pneumonia (his story is here), and our water heater broke. Water in his lungs, water on our basement floor, and if you consider the fluid inside of blisters to be water, than I have water irritating my feet.

I love how Dan put it – “if you are a pray-er, please pray for healing and that if there is something here for me to see, learn, or notice, that i would.”

My perspective is usually pretty good and I can usually perceive if/when God wants me to learn something from an experience, but with this, so far, I’ve got nothing concrete (I’m also not asking for opinions).

I have a feeling it has something to do with patience and dependency.
Or yet another experience with the effects of contaminated water.

For now, I deeply appreciate your prayers. Before I was up to speak at the Team World Vision National Leader’s Gathering on Saturday, I texted Dan because I was in a lot of pain and starting to get anxious. I didn’t want to make a big deal about it or distract anyone’s attention away from the event, but I was desperate for prayer. So I asked Dan to reach out to some people privately. Within in minutes, my phone was blowing up with words of love and encouragement. If you were one of those people, I can’t appropriately expressed my gratitude. While I am obviously not healed, I did not think about my feet once while I was speaking. Not once. And I was dancing to “I Saw The Light” about an hour later. You made a difference. Thank you so much.

Please continue to pray for a fast(er) healing and clarity, if there is something more that I should take away from this. I plan to make an appointment with the dermatologist in the morning.

And PLEASE continue to pray for the children of Africa who are without clean water today, and how you can help this year.

12032023_10153756202710809_396527325892951200_n (1)

Quoted from “The Ability to Endure” by Michael Chitwood

 

There is always a temptation to turn our focus onto ourselves and wallow in our own problems. But that’s not me. I point you back to the unheard, unseen people in the margins. I share my stories with you, for them.

Click here to give: www.teamworldvision.org/participant/sineadtris

Lord Jesus, have mercy on us.

Ok. Stop here if you don’t want to see pictures of my progressively worsening feet.

 


UPDATE: Monday, March 27th17436182_10155230688717835_7525843391272704437_o

I went in to the ER this morning. Got diagnosed with cellulitis and was prescribed some mega-dosages of 2 antibiotics. Glad we caught it. I guess it’s the kinda thing that can make you really sick. With all these medications, I feel more like a geriatric patient. I’m doing fine otherwise. Thank you for your prayers.

UPDATE: Monday night. Two friends have sent me this verse within the last hour. This is the kind of encouragement I needed.

“How beautiful on the mountains are the feet of the messenger who brings good news, the good news of peace and salvation, the news that the God of Israel reigns!”

‭‭Isaiah‬ ‭52:7‬ ‭NLT‬‬ http://bible.com/116/isa.52.7.nlt

UPDATE: Tuesday, April 20th

It wasn’t athlete’s foot after all? What the heck?!

img_2955

One thought on “Sidelined

Leave a Reply

