Take me deeper

I suppose it’s time for an update. There’s no big news. Just subtleties in the story that might be worth noting.

First of all, my feet are fine. Thank you. That’s still the #1 question I get these days.

Training is… going.
After returning from my weekend in Madison… when I was finally done with my pity party… I came back resolved. I knew what I needed to do, so I did it. I had my hardest training week yet in front of me – 13 hours and 50 minutes of training required. I’m proud to say I completed 13:55. I gave myself an A.

IMG_3271

Thankfully, this past week was a recovery week – only 10 hours required – though that got cut way short due to a stomach bug I woke with in the middle of the night on Tuesday. That forced me down to a complete rest for two days – which I don’t feel bad about. Not. One. Bit.

IMG_3273

I really hate the red though.


img_3256

This day was funny.

I did a couple more open water swims. I really love being outdoors  – I mean, look at this! This is 2 miles from my house. Just gorgeous. MN summers are the BEST.

I’m still terrified of the dark depths of the lake. I will acknowledge that it’s a bit of an irrational fear, but it’s real for me and I have to overcome it. I told a friend earlier this week that it’s like God took me at my word when I sang the song “Oceans”…

~ Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander ~

Now the question is, will I take God at his?

~ And my faith will be made stronger
in the presence of my Savior ~ 


I do know this. There is a massive work being done on my heart. So big that I can’t even wrap my head around it yet. I mean, there’s a faith vs. fear/testing/dependence element to this, for sure. I expected that. But this other stuff… Dang.

It sucks. It’s like I’m in a furnace, undergoing a refining process – a burning away of some pretty nasty impurities and junk that’s rising to the surface. I didn’t sign up for this part.

I’m struggling.

Good thing I have this live-in pastor who pointed me to Jesus. That was so smart of him.

The Parable of The Vineyard Workers
-and-
The Parable of The Lost Son

So I’ve got some soul searching ahead of me.

Maybe I’ll read up on the refining process – iron ore, in particular?

And Leviathan… I’m guessing there might be something there for me too. 😉


God is at work.
In me.
And in kids in Africa.

Will you let him work in you too?
http://www.teamworldvision.org/participant/sineadtris

Leave a Reply

