19512533_10155540584737835_1220521423_nOh yeah! 72 miles DONE!
  • 69.1 miles on the bike – not sure where or how I lost that .9. I did make one wrong turn, but I accidentally added a mile on at the beginning when I forgot my sunglasses/bug guards and had to return home. So who knows what happened, but for the first time EVER I did not feel compelled to ride around the block a few more times just to get to seventy even. 69.1 is GOOD for today. 🙂

  • 2101 ft of elevation gain. The Madison course will have more than this during the first 70 miles of Ironman, but this is good practice.
  • + a 30 minute brick run (right after the ride)
 
The wind was reckless – 18+ mph – which for whatever reason, I wasn’t expecting this morning. It seemed like it was hitting me from every direction, but those 10 miles through Lake Elmo were especially harrowing. I never got much of a break and it really slowed me down. Whatevs – One more epic bike ride closer to 2017 IRONMAN Wisconsin.
 
I’ve been pleasantly surprised by how good running feels after these long rides. At first, it’s weird – my legs feel all wobbly and my knees are stiff, but usually within the first mile everything falls back into place and I’m able to find a comfortable pace. It’s been awesome to have Dan join me for those few miles, after being alone on the bike for so long. It’s very welcomed company.
 
All in all, it was a GREAT day because a gift of $140 came in from a very generous friend around mile 20 and it was just the encouragement I needed. I’d ride long every day if I knew 3 kids would receive a life free from long, dangerous walks and sickness from dirty water.
 
For now… I’m at a 3,300 calorie deficit, and I’ve got a 15 mile run scheduled tomorrow. Time to eat everything.
 
Leave a Reply

